RSS Feed

Cold Oven Lemon Drizzle Cake

Cold Oven Lemon Drizzle Cake

Sticky, sharp and sweet Cold Oven Lemon Drizzle Cake

There’s been a bit of a gap in posting any recipes here, mostly because I’ve either been baking other people’s recipes, or because I’m experimenting with new recipes and they’re not quite ready yet. To make sure you got your regular dose of Lip Smackin’ Treats I thought I’d post one of my tried and tested recipes that I call Cold Oven Lemon Drizzle Cake. Most recipes require you to heat the oven first but, unusually, this recipe calls for you to turn the heat on only once the cake mixture goes in to the oven, hence the name. If you have a food processor, you can make this as an all-in-one cake, but it’s still incredibly easy to make without any fancy gadgets, as long as your butter is good and soft.

Cold Oven Lemon Drizzle Cake

Ingredients:

  • 115g butter, softened
  • 140g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 170g self raising flour
  • 4 tbsp milk
  • 2 lemons
  • 85g icing sugar

DON’T turn on your oven! Grease and line a loaf tin with greaseproof paper. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and caster sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and mix well, then tip in the flour and give another good mix. Add the milk and finely grated rind of both lemons and give a good stir until well combined. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf tin, put it in the oven and turn on the heat to 175C. Cook for 50-60 minutes (make the syrup as per the instructions given below at about 45 minutes into the cooking time – that way it will still be warm when the cake is ready). The cake is done when risen, golden and firm to the touch – a skewer inserted will come out clean.

To make the syrup, juice the lemons (making sure you dispose of any pips) and place the juice in a small saucepan with the icing sugar. Bring to the boil and turn off the heat.

When your cake is done, take it out of the oven and put it, still in its tin, on a board or cooling rack. Prick the cake all over with a skewer (if you haven’t got a skewer or cake tester use a fork) and pour over the syrup over the still warm cake, making sure you get it over the whole surface. You may find it pools in the corners so you can use a teaspoon to guide it over the rest of the cake. Leave to cool completely in the tin before turning out and removing the greaseproof paper. Cut into slices and serve.

About brightonbaker

Baking, sharing, writing, eating.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve been making cakes for a long time now, many years. I have always stuck to my lemon drizzle recipe, which historically has always been an 8 ounce cake. I was about to make it again for tomorrow to take into work for my birthday, as tradition has it. I was not sure about making a whole 8 ounce version, and as I was pondering my plight, Becki posted this fabulous recipe.

    It is firstly very simple to make, which I go for when I’m busy. Secondly it has a lovely bouncy texture and, even without the drizzle, is very moist. Add the drizzle and, well, let’s say the test one was devoured in under 10 minutes by the testers concerned!

    Thanks Becki for a great recipe, and something a little different. This is the first cold oven cake I have made, and I will be filing this recipe in my collection!

    Reply
    • So glad to have a keen cake baker tell me they enjoyed my recipe. It’s great when you discover a recipe that’s so easy but with such great rewards; I’m delighted to be added to your collection!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

